‘Real Horrorshow’: Hallowe’en Rockin’ The Mike DIY

Hellow folks.  Just thought I’d blog a quick call for some class participation.  As you know, there’s a shortage of really good seasonal music compilations out there (and those there are seem to skew towards the Christmas end of the holiday scale) so I though i’d remedy the sitch by asking for contributions to Rockin’ The Mike: A Very fake. Hallowe’en.  Anyone can contribute by leaving  your chosen artist and track name in the comments section.  If your track is selected for inclusion on the comp, you’ll receive a limited edition copy of the compilation which’ll include some fancy-schmancy album art designed by the editorial staff.  I’m looking for ‘spooky’, ‘atmospheric’ or ‘thematic’ and am open to suggestion as long as it falls within those admittedly loose parameters.  There are a few rules though:

 

-no ‘Monster Mash’

-Instrumentals are okay but ‘Tubular Bells’ isn’t

-please keep the goth bands to a minimum, this is Hallowe’en not Interview with a Vampire (that said, if you can surprise me with a decent Sisters, Mission, AFIor My Chemical Romance tune, i’m totally down with it).

-Contribute Danzig Tracks at your own risk.

-you can make more than one suggestion but comps will be limited to only one per contributor.

-anyone can contribute so tell a friend!

Other than those stipulations, just about anything goes– points will be rewarded for creativity and originality.  Contributions will be accepted until friday October 13th, natch. and the compilation will be available on fake. the following friday just in time for all your Hallowe’en party prep.

14 Responses to “‘Real Horrorshow’: Hallowe’en Rockin’ The Mike DIY”


  1. 1 The Vickerman October 3, 2006 at 1:47 pm

    May I suggest The Herbaliser – title track of Something Wicked This Way Comes.
    (http://www.herbaliser.com/herbaliser/music/somethingwicked.mp3)

    If that’s not what you’re talkin’ bout, I don’t know what qualifies…

  2. 2 frank October 3, 2006 at 1:48 pm

    nice choice. I like the ‘horror movie’ reference in your name choice as well.

  3. 3 The Vickerman October 3, 2006 at 1:56 pm

    Ahh… Brit Ekland. Nothing fake about her.

  4. 4 Jennica October 3, 2006 at 2:14 pm

    Okay, here are a few suggestions (admittedly from a mix I made called “Vampire/Zombie Love Affair”:

    -Transylvanian Concubine by Rasputina
    -Are We Still Married? by His Name is Alive
    -Pinned Together, Falling Apart by The Dears

    And some other thoughts:

    -The CN Tower Belongs to the Dead by Final Fantasy
    -Witchy Woman by the Eagles
    -Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground by White Stripes
    -Chick Habit by April March
    -Fett’s Vette by MC Chris, ’cause someone’s bound to be in Star Wars gear

    Sorry, I’ll stop.

  5. 5 Clint October 3, 2006 at 2:25 pm

    Hmm where do I begin? Me no fear the reaper – by Pop Will Eat Itself. Dead Souls by Nine Inch Nails, Every day is halloween by Ministry, Halloween by Siouxsie and the Banshees, Candy by Rain Station… I could go on but let’s give some other people a chance to participate.

  6. 6 tino October 3, 2006 at 2:27 pm

    Sorry to state the obvious, but Michael Jackson – Thriller can’t be left out

  7. 7 frank October 3, 2006 at 3:54 pm

    There’s something to be said for the obvious and it’s certainly a great track. Got any other funky suggestions?

  8. 8 J October 3, 2006 at 4:13 pm

    Damn you Eastern Std Time, daytime working people!

  9. 9 Clint October 5, 2006 at 1:56 pm

    Every day is Halloween by Ministry, Some Candy Talking or Psychocandy both by The Jesus and Mary Chain…I could go on all day.

  10. 10 Jennica October 13, 2006 at 1:37 am

    Red Right Hand by Nick Cave.

    I realize Clint could “go on all day” but I do believe I’ve submitted more suggestions… especially given Ministry was suggested twice.

    (Too late for trash-talking? Sorry!)

  11. 11 Clint October 13, 2006 at 1:39 pm

    Jennica I didn’t realize that this was a competition. Yes indeed you did submit more suggestions than I. I bow down to your superior knowledge of Halloween themed music. Admittedly I did submit Ministry twice. My mistake. I appologise to everyone for my lack of musical diversity. (It’s never too late to trash talk)

  12. 12 Jennica October 13, 2006 at 2:01 pm

    Hee hee. I don’t know why it gives me such pleasure to trash-talk with a total stranger, but it does! (I guess I figured: friend of Frank’s? Probably up for the trash-talk.)

  13. 13 Clint October 13, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    And right you are. I’m always up for a little sass.

  14. 14 tino October 14, 2006 at 11:07 am

    may as well throw on some rob zombie…just saw one of his movies and was impressed with the 70’s drive-in slasher-flick meets marilyn manson video feel. Or some GWAR as they’re down with the silly costumes.


Leave a Reply

